Save up to 15% on your car insurance rates*

Get multiple quotes from national carriers

*Savings will vary from driver to driver.


Delaware Car Insurance & Minimum Coverage Amounts

Delaware is often overlooked as a destination state, and even some Delaware residents will tell you they’re from “outside of Philly.” But the First State has a lot to offer, including some of the most pristine beaches in the country.

If you’re considering making the Blue Hen State your home, you’ll need to legally register your car. Here’s what you need to know about Delaware car insurance and how to legally drive in the state of Delaware.

Delaware Car Insurance Minimum Coverage

Once you’re all settled into your new home, it’s time to register your car in Delaware. To do so, you’ll need to provide proof that you have the required minimum Delaware car insurance. Currently, those minimums are:

  • Bodily injury liability protection: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property damage liability: $10,000.
  • Personal injury protection coverage: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.

In addition to these requirements, you’re also strongly recommended to carry:

  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, and
  • Uninsured property damage liability coverage: $10,000 per accident.

However, the latter two coverages may be waived in writing with your insurer if you choose not to carry them.

What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Delaware?

When you move to Delaware or register a vehicle there, you can expect to pay more than the national average for your car insurance. On average, Delawareans pay around $1,775 for full coverage of their vehicles and about $787 per year for the minimum coverage.

Remember that the cost of your premiums may vary depending on your:

  • Age
  • Sex or gender
  • Driving record
  • Past tickets
  • Marital status
  • Credit score

Shop around with various insurers to get the best rate, and don’t forget to ask them about discounts you may be eligible for.

Why is Car Insurance So Expensive in Delaware?

Car insurance in Delaware isn’t cheap, compared to the national average. In fact, the state is ranked 45th out of 50 for most affordable insurance. The primary reason for this is because Delaware is such a population-dense state.

With almost a million people squished into just under 2,000 square miles of space, you’re more likely to get into an accident on a Delaware road than in other parts of the country.

Delaware is also a very high-crime state. Your car is more likely to be stolen or vandalized in Delaware than in most other states, so insurance companies charge accordingly.

Lapses in Delaware Car Insurance

If your car is registered in Delaware and you allow your insurance to lapse, you could face some large fines. The fine you’ll pay is based on the number of days you were uninsured. Currently, that amount is $100 for the first 30 days, then $5 for each additional.

However, that’s only if you don’t get caught. If you’re pulled by law enforcement and can’t provide proof of insurance, you’ll be charged between $1,500 and $2,000. Your driver’s license will be suspended for a full six months. Subsequent offenses will result in fines of up to $4,000.

Avoid this expense by keeping your Delaware car insurance up to date and current.

Best Auto Insurance in Delaware

Delawareans are known to be opinionated, and that’s certainly true when it comes to car insurance. When surveyed, Delaware drivers chose the following five insurers as the best in terms of affordability, coverage, and customer care:

  • Allstate
  • State Farm
  • Travelers
  • USAA

As you shop for your insurance, be sure to check around for the rate and coverage that best suits your driving history and your budget.

Driving in Delaware

Moving to Delaware and want to learn more about what you’ll encounter on the road? Here are some facts about driving in the state of Delaware.

  • It’s illegal to change clothes in your car in Fenwick Island. It’s also illegal to change in a public restroom. Or use your car as a restroom. Thankfully, Maryland is just a few miles down the coast.
  • Most speed-related crashes in Delaware are on streets with a 50 mile per hour speed limit.
  • One person is killed approximately every 80 hours in Delaware traffic accidents.
  • Of the three counties in Delaware, New Castle county sees the most traffic accidents.

Conclusion: Can Insurance in Delaware

Delaware is often overlooked, but it’s a great place to visit or live. There’s a lot to see along its 340 miles of highway. If you want to avoid extremely high fines and inconvenient consequences, always be sure your Delaware car insurance is up to date.