From haunted Savannah to thriving Atlanta or historical Macon; regardless of where you’re driving in the Peach State, you’re going to need Georgia car insurance.
In this guide, we’re going to look at the minimum required coverage you need to register a car in Georgia, and what happens if you’re not properly insured.
Georgia Car Insurance Minimum Coverage
Before you register your car with Georgia plates, you’ll need to provide proof that you’re insured for at least the minimum Georgia car insurance. Currently, you’ll need to submit proof that you have:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $25,000 per accident and $50,000 per accident
- Uninsured property damage coverage: $25,000 – there is a $250, $500 or $1,000 deductible
It is worth noting that these are just the minimum requirements for vehicle registration. Should you feel you would like more coverage, you can opt for comprehensive, collision, or other insurance options when you talk to your insurance agent.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Georgia?
Georgia car insurance policyholders can expect to pay around $1,372 per year, on average, for full insurance coverage. This is about the same as the national average, so if you’re moving from another state these premiums probably won’t sound unreasonable.
Again, this average is for full coverage. Obviously, if you have just the minimum coverage you’ll pay less for your insurance. You may also be eligible for discounts through your employer or other organizations, so be sure you shop around.
The price you pay for insurance may vary, too, based on your credit and driving history. Age, marital status, sex, and other factors will also likely impact your premiums, so check multiple agents to ensure you’re getting the best deal.
Why is Car Insurance So Expensive in Georgia?
Georgia has some of the most accidents on its highways in the country. This leads to insurers paying out more, which in turn raises your premiums.
Additionally, the state gave insurance companies free rein to raise premiums at their leisure. Of course, they have done so. The result is that your premiums are higher than they could be. Once more, be sure to shop around for the cheapest rates. Different companies may offer different premiums and discounts to you.
Lapses in Georgia Car Insurance
An insurance lapse in Georgia is any 10 or more consecutive days without auto insurance. After a lapse, you’ll need to pay a fine and reinstatement fees for your license and tags in order to restore your driving privileges.
If you’re stopped by law enforcement and can’t prove that you have Georgia car insurance, you’ll face fees of up to $185, the suspension of your license and registration, and the possibility of up to a year in jail. In short, be sure you’re covered with the proper insurance to avoid fees and even incarceration.
Best Auto Insurance in Georgia
Georgians were surveyed and asked their favorite auto insurance providers. The following five companies consistently ranked best for coverage, cost, and customer service:
- Auto Owners
- State Farm
Keep in mind that USAA insurance is only available to military servicemembers and their families. You may have to shop around to find a suitable substitute for this insurance company.
Driving in Georgia
Headed down to Georgia? Here are some fun facts and statistics you may be interested to learn about driving in the Peach State.
- There are almost 7 million licensed drivers in the state of Georgia, so share the road!
- If you’re driving in the “fast” (left) lane on Georgia highways, you can be ticketed for going the speed limit.
- In Marietta, you can receive a citation for spitting out of your car or a bus.
- If you see law enforcement on the side of the road, you must pull over and leave one lane between you and the stopped vehicle. The same is true for DoT vehicles and garbage trucks.
While most “weird laws” are obscure and generally not enforced, these four laws are absolutely enforced in the state of Georgia.
Conclusion: Car Insurance in Georgia
Georgia drivers are some of the most accident-prone in the country, so having car insurance is absolutely a must in the state. In fact, driving without Georgia car insurance can cost you and even mean potential jail time for you. Keep your insurance up to date to stay protected and steer clear of legal trouble.