Did you know that the state of Kansas is literally flatter than a pancake? It’s true; the calculations have been made. Known for its simple and conservative residents, Kansas boasts about 142,000 miles of straight roadways.
While learning to drive in the Sunflower State may prove pretty easy, you’ll need to make sure you have the right car insurance on your vehicle. In this guide, we’ll talk about everything you need to know before you register your car in one of the 626 towns in the state of Kansas.
Kansas Car Insurance Minimum Coverage Amounts
Before you go to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to register your car, you’re going to need proof of Kansas car insurance. Here are the minimums required by the Sunflower State:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property damage liability coverage: $25,000.
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Basic personal injury protection: $4,500 per person.
Kansas car insurance isn’t too different from insurance in other states. Does that mean your insurance rates will cost about the same as the national average? Well, that depends.
Your insurance agent can speak with you about how your age, driving record, credit history, marital status, and other factors will impact the cost of your insurance. Bear in mind that you may also qualify for discounts through your employer or other organizations you belong to.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Kansas?
So, what can you expect to pay for Kansas car insurance? Generally, drivers in the Sunflower State will pay around $2,043 per year for full coverage and around $558 per year for the minimum coverage.
Of course, you’ll keep in mind that your premiums will vary based on your driving history and other factors. For instance, if you’ve had a lapse in your auto insurance you’ll likely pay higher rates in the future.
Taking this into consideration, Kansas insurance agents offer premiums that are about 20% less than the national average. That’s a pretty good deal to drive freely around the many wheat fields in the state!
Why is Car Insurance So Cheap in Kansas?
To put it simply, Kansas car insurance is so cheap because it’s the 35th most populated state in the country. Its long and straight roads make visibility excellent, and there are so few people on the road that the probability of having an accident is very low.
Kansas does have the occasional weather event. You’re probably at least somewhat familiar with tornado season in the state. But these events are fairly predictable, and they only minimally factor into your car insurance premium cost.
One issue that Kansas drivers do face is fatigue. Those seemingly endless roads are, quite frankly, boring. When there are fewer drivers on the road and little to keep you alert, you may be more likely to face challenges.
Lapses in Kansas Car Insurance
If you let your Kansas car insurance lapse, you can face a number of penalties. The severity of those penalties depends both on the offense (such as whether there was an accident or not) and the length of time you’ve been uninsured.
Possible penalties for driving uninsured or with a lapse are:
- Fines costing up to $5,000
- Jail time
- Suspended license and registration
- Mandatory community service
- Impoundment of your car or truck
- Pricey reinstatement fees
Furthermore, if you’re found to be at fault for an accident, you’ll be liable for all costs associated with the crash.
Do yourself a favor-keep your Kansas car insurance up to date and be sure it meets the minimum requirements for the state.
Best Auto Insurance in Kansas
Kansas drivers were surveyed to determine the best insurers in the state. The following five car insurance providers consistently ranked best for customer service, coverage, and affordability.
- State Farm
- Farm Bureau
- American Family
Again, be sure you shop around for your car insurance. You can qualify for discounts through certain organizations like AAA, AARP, and even your employer. Check out which agencies offer the coverage that’s right for you and your family.
Driving in Kansas
Ready to check out the state that’s flatter than a pancake? While not known for its scenic byways, Kansas definitely has some laws and driving facts that are memorable.
- Kansan pedestrians are required to wear taillights when crossing the street at night.
- You can be charged up to $500 for “screeching” your tires in Derby, Kansas.
- In Topeka, don’t even think about driving your car through a parade.
- Caught sight of carolers in Topeka? Call the police. It’s illegal to sing in the streets at night.
Conclusion: Car Insurance in Kansas
Kansas is more well-known for its tailgating and fictional birds than it is for its scenic roadways, but you’ve got to get from one game to another somehow! Legally register and insure your car in Kansas with the proper coverage to avoid expensive fines and penalties.