Kentucky is often overlooked as one of the most beautiful states in the country. Known for its bluegrass music (and lifestyle), the state of Kentucky boasts crystal clear lakes, densely wooded forests, and gorgeous mountain ranges.
If you’re driving in Kentucky, you’re going to need the right auto insurance. In this guide, we’ll talk about everything you need to know about car insurance in the Bluegrass State.
Kentucky Car Insurance Minimum Coverage Amounts
Before you register a vehicle in the state of Kentucky, you’re going to need to prove that you have car insurance. In the Bluegrass State, the minimum requirements are as follows:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property Damage liability: $10,000 per accident.
- Uninsured Motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Personal injury protection (PIP): $10,000 per accident.
Some of these coverages, including PIP and uninsured motorist protection, may be waived. If you choose not to purchase these insurance coverages, talk to your Kentucky car insurance agent about the applicable forms you’ll need to sign.
It may be in your best interest to opt for higher coverages. Collision, comprehensive, and even roadside assistance and towing are options that can be added to your policy. Your premiums will likely be higher, but it may be worth the peace of mind.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Kentucky?
Despite needing as much car insurance coverage as you do in other states, the premiums you’ll pay are relatively expensive. A good driver with decent credit can expect to pay around $2,050 per year on average for full coverage.
If you opt for the minimum coverage, of course, your premiums will be less expensive. Other factors that may impact your rate include your age, sex, zip code, driving history, and even your marital status.
Be sure you talk with your insurance agent about discounts you may qualify for. Your employer and the organizations you are affiliated with may allow you to save money on your car insurance.
Why is Car Insurance So Expensive in Kentucky?
Driving in Kentucky isn’t without its risks. In fact, the state has higher traffic fatalities than the national average. There are 1.36 deaths per 100 million miles in the Bluegrass State; the national average is 1.1.
Because of the higher likelihood of accidents, Kentucky car insurance companies charge more for premiums.
Make sure you check around for discounts you may qualify for. Furthermore, don’t allow your car insurance to lapse, as this may further raise your future premiums.
Lapses in Kentucky Car Insurance
If you do, for some reason, allow your Kentucky insurance to lapse, you’ll face some serious consequences. When you’re pulled over by law enforcement or involved in an accident, you must prove that you’re insured. If you can’t, you can end up paying up to $2,500 in fines.
In addition to these fines, your license may be suspended for two years or more. Jail time is also a possibility; you can serve up to 180 days in jail. Ensure that your Kentucky car insurance is up to date and paid to avoid expensive penalties.
Best Auto Insurance in Kentucky
Drivers in the Bluegrass State were asked, “What’s the best auto insurance in Kentucky?” The following five car insurance companies consistently ranked best for affordability, coverage, and service:
- Kentucky Farm Bureau
We’ll remind you again: shop around for your car insurance. Coverage that works for other drivers may not be optimal for you, so check with your agent about what policy coverages and protections you may need for your lifestyle.
Driving in Kentucky
Do you want to know a little more about driving and living in the Bluegrass state? The following are laws that are still on the books in Kentucky, but we’re not sure how strictly they’re enforced!
- If you’re in a moving vehicle, you may not hunt. Unless you’re hunting for whales. You can hunt whales from moving vehicles in Kentucky.
- It’s illegal to toss a bucket of soapsuds into a public street in Kentucky.
- In Kentucky, it’s illegal to trade horses after dark.
- When you’re learning to drive in Kentucky, at least 10 hours of practice must be done at night.
Conclusion: Car Insurance in Kentucky
If you’re headed to the Bluegrass State, you’ll need the right insurance. Shop around for an insurance provider you love, then talk to your agent about the coverage options that are best for you. Most importantly, keep your Kentucky car insurance current to avoid pricey penalties and even license suspension.