Louisiana is the home of the blues and Mardi Gras. And while it’s great for vacationers, many people choose to stay and make it their home, as well.
If you want to bring your car to the Pelican State, you’ll need to be properly insured. In this guide, we’ll discover all you need to know about Louisiana car insurance and how to drive legally in the state.
Louisiana Car Insurance Minimum Coverage Amounts
Before you register your car in Louisiana, you’re going to need to prove that you’re covered by at least the state’s minimum insurance coverage. These minimums are as follows:
- Bodily injury liability protection: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.
- Property damage liability coverage: $25,000 per accident.
- Medical payments: $1,000 minimum.
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury protection: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.
Remember that these are just the minimums. For your own Louisiana car insurance, you may choose higher coverage options. For instance, flood protection may be important for you to carry in the Pelican State.
Talk to your agent about the policy and premiums that fit your lifestyle and your budget.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Louisiana?
If you’re moving to Louisiana from another state, you may be in for some sticker shock. Louisiana car insurance is quite expensive, and the average driver will pay around $2,225 per year for full coverage.
This premium cost is about 56% higher than the national average. Remember that your minimum coverage insurance will cost significantly less, but you won’t be offered the protection you would be with a more robust plan.
Speak with your insurance representative about whether you qualify for discounts on your auto insurance. Every little helps, and you may even be able to bring the cost down by simply having a good driving record or being part of a certain organization.
Why is Car Insurance So Expensive in Louisiana?
There are two primary reasons why the cost of car insurance in Louisiana is so high. First, lawyers in the Pelican State are quite litigious. Lawsuits are filed for even minor fender benders, which means insurance companies are paying out more.
Secondly, Louisiana weather is partly to blame for high insurance premiums. Louisiana is the third most likely state, after Florida and Texas, to be hit with major hurricanes. Strong winds, hail, and excessive flooding are not uncommon in Louisiana. Damage to cars is very common and insurance companies pay much more as a result.
Lapses in Louisiana Car Insurance
If you’re caught driving in the state of Louisiana with no car insurance, you’re going to face serious fines and penalties. The amount you’re charged depends on how long you’ve been without coverage, and can range from $125 to $850.
In addition to these fees, you’ll likely have your license and registration suspended, which will require reinstatement costs once it’s time to get your driving privileges back. If you fail to pay the fines you’ve been assessed, the debt can be referred to the Treasury Department and the IRS can garnish your tax refund.
Car insurance in Louisiana is pricey but it’s easier to just maintain at least the minimum coverages to avoid inconvenient and expensive fines.
Best Auto Insurance in Louisiana
Louisiana drivers were polled to determine the most popular car insurance company in the state. The following five insurance companies consistently ranked best for coverage, customer service, and premium rates.
- State Farm
Your Louisiana car insurance needs may be different than the needs of other drivers. Choose a policy that has the most affordable premiums with the coverage options you need.
Driving in Louisiana
When you’re ready to head on down to the Bayou State, you may be interested to learn a few facts about living in Louisiana. Here are a few things to think about while you’re on the road.
- It’s illegal to tie your alligator to a fire hydrant in Louisiana.
- In Abbeville, it’s illegal to roller skate on the sidewalk.
- If you’re at a drive-in theater in Jefferson Parrish, don’t even think about pouring your drink out onto the ground-it’s against the law.
- It’s illegal to ride a bicycle, tricycle, or any other person-powered vehicle without at least one hand on the handlebars.
Conclusion: Car Insurance in Louisiana
Marshes and Mardi Gras make Louisiana one of the most recognizable states in the country. If you’re planning to drive in the state, you’ll need to make sure you have the right insurance. Failing to provide proof of coverage will get you in serious trouble and may even result in the suspension of your license.