As the home of blues music, William Faulkner, catfish, and root beer, Mississippi is a great place to visit. Driving across the state you’ll see homes ranging from tar paper houses to Southern plantation mansions.
But you can’t drive across Mississippi legally if your vehicle isn’t properly insured. In this guide, we’ll cover everything you need to know about driving in Mississippi and the insurance coverage you’ll need to do so legally.
Mississippi Car Insurance Minimum Coverage
Before you register a vehicle in the Magnolia State, you’ll need the proper insurance. Failure to provide proof of insurance on your vehicle can lead to some pretty heft consequences-we’ll talk about those later in this guide.
The state of Mississippi requires that you carry:
- Bodily injury liability insurance coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property damage liability insurance coverage of $25,000.
While those coverage amounts are all that the law requires, most agents will recommend that you add additional options to your policy. For instance, you may opt to purchase collision, comprehensive, rental reimbursement, or roadside assistance for your vehicle’s plan.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Mississippi?
Moving from another state to Mississippi? You’re in for a shock. Mississippi car insurance averages more than 26% more than the national average! You can expect to pay about $1,800 per year on full coverage insurance.
It may seem that this is quite excessive, considering your minimum insurance requirements are so low. However, there are several reasons Mississippi insurance premiums are higher than other states-we’ll look at that in a moment.
As you shop for car insurance, keep in mind that there are discounts available to you. You can get a cheaper rate if you:
- Have a clean driving record
- Do not drive frequently or far
- Park your car in a low-crime zip code
- Are married
- Have good credit
Your age, gender, and other factors will also impact the premium you pay. Be sure to ask your insurance agent about the discount options available to you.
Why is Car Insurance So Expensive in Mississippi?
Unfortunately for those who follow the law, Mississippi has the second-highest number in the country of drivers who are uninsured. If you’re caught driving without insurance in the state, you technically have time to get insurance after your ticket. You’ll pay a $100 fine and can drop your insurance after your court case is dismissed.
Weather in Mississippi is also a driving factor in a rise in premiums. Flooding, in particular, is becoming more and more common in the state. As insurers pay out more to drivers for vehicle damage, the annual premiums of insurance policies also rise.
Lapses in Mississippi Car Insurance
We touched on Mississippi car insurance lapses in the previous section of this guide. While there are loopholes in state insurance law, it’s still recommended that you obtain coverage. There are just too many uninsured motorists out there, and too high a possibility that you’ll be involved in an accident.
With that said, should you be stopped by law enforcement and found to have no insurance the penalty is slight. You’ll face a fine of $500, but that is lowered to just $100 if you’re able to show valid proof of insurance by the date of your hearing. You won’t even have to pay court costs.
To avoid inconvenience, fines, and the possible suspension of your license, it’s best to maintain your coverage and keep proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times.
Best Auto Insurance in Mississippi
Those Mississippi drivers who do choose to pay for insurance were polled to determine the best Mississippi car insurance carriers. The best rated in terms of affordability and coverage were as follows:
- Mississippi Farm Bureau
- State Farm
It’s important to note that while your rates may differ, the average annual premium for full coverage-even with these five companies-can be as high as $4,000 per year. Do your homework and shop around!
Driving in Mississippi
Ready to hit the road and explore Mississippi? Here are some fun facts about driving in the state.
- In Winona and Oxford, you can’t honk your horn-it may scare the horses.
- In Oxford, it’s illegal to drive around the town more than 100 times in one trip.
- In Brandon, it’s against the law to stop a person who’s walking by putting a truck in their way. The law makes no mention of whether cars are legal.
Conclusion: Mississippi Car Insurance
Driving in Mississippi can lead you to some beautiful scenery and interesting adventures. Be sure your auto insurance policy is up to date, however, before you hit the road in the Hospitality State.