The state of Missouri boasts 1,380 miles of highway, the fifth most in the country. There’s certainly a lot to explore; the rivers and plains of Missouri are awe-inspiring. But if you’re thinking of moving to the state, you’ll need to have the required insurance coverage for your vehicle.
In this guide, we’ll cover everything you need to know about driving in Missouri legally and the insurance you’ll need to remain a legal driver.
Missouri Car Insurance Minimum Coverage
If you’re bringing your car to Missouri, or already live in the state and want to purchase a new vehicle, you’ll need to show proof of insurance. Without insurance, you can’t register your car and may face some legal repercussions.
At a minimum, you will be required to carry:
- Bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property damage coverage of $10,000 per accident.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Remember, this is just the minimum. If you feel you’d rather protect your car and yourself more thoroughly, there are additional options available. You can choose comprehensive coverage, collision coverage, towing and roadside assistance, and more.
Do your research online or talk to an insurance agent about the options that are available to you that fit your budget and your driving habits.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Missouri?
The average cost of car insurance in Missouri is relatively low compared to the national average. You can expect to pay around $1,334 each year for full coverage. That’s around 6.5% less than drivers pay nationally.
Your insurance premiums will vary, however, based on a number of factors. These include:
- Your age
- Your gender/sex
- Your marital status
- Your credit score
- Your driving history
- Where you park your car at night
- The type of car you drive
As you can see, there are quite a few factors that can raise or lower your Missouri car insurance premiums. Be sure to shop around to get the best deal.
Why is Car Insurance So Cheap in Missouri?
Missouri car insurance is certainly lower than it could be, given the crime rates in the state. Branson and Springfield have particularly high crime statistics, so your insurance premiums might be higher if you live in these areas.
With that said, Missouri drivers live in an at-fault state, which brings the cost of insurance down. There are also parts of the state that are less densely populated which further lowers the cost of your insurance premiums.
Lapses in Missouri Car Insurance
If you’re caught driving in Missouri without car insurance, prepare to have your license and registration suspended. You’ll need to pay court costs and license reinstatement fees, and the cost of those fines goes up each time you commit the crime.
The first time you’re caught with no Missouri car insurance, you’ll pay a fine of $20 to reinstate your license. The second and third times you’ll pay $200 and $400 respectively. There may be other penalties and fees associated with your lack of insurance, so keep yourself covered!
Best Auto Insurance in Missouri
Missouri drivers were asked which insurer they loved the most in terms of affordability, coverage, and customer service. The following five insurance companies consistently ranked the highest.
- American Family
- Missouri Farm Bureau
Keep in mind that no one insurance provider is right for every driver. You may find that you prefer an insurer that’s not on this list.
As you shop for Missouri car insurance, keep in mind that you may be eligible for discounts through your university, your employer or through organizations you belong to. Military service members also frequently qualify for lower rates on car insurance.
Driving in Missouri
As you’re driving through the Show Me State, you may choose to ponder some of these fun facts about Missouri’s highways.
- You must acquire a permit to shave while driving in Missouri.
- It’s against the law to enter someone else’s vehicle and honk their horn in this state.
- Don’t park your car with the engine on in St. Louis, you might scare the horses.
- If you’re a salesman in Springfield, don’t even think about parking in the middle of the road, screaming at passing vehicles to buy your goods. It’s against the law.
Conclusion: Auto Insurance in Missouri
Missouri car insurance requirements aren’t much different than most states, and you’ll pay slightly less than the national average to cover your vehicle. Be sure to keep your car insurance up to date to avoid fines and penalties in the Show Me State.