Welcome to New Hampshire! Whether you’re making the state your primary home or are just registering a car to use seasonally, there are a few things you’ll need to know about driving legally in The Granite State.
Skiing, hiking, national parks, and wildlife are yours to explore in the state of New Hampshire. Here’s how you can ensure that your New Hampshire car insurance is up to date and legal.
New Hampshire Car Insurance Minimum Requirements
In order to register a vehicle in the state of New Hampshire, the law requires that you carry specific minimums of car insurance coverage. Those minimums are as follows:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property damage coverage: $25,000 per accident.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Medical payment coverage: $1,000 per accident.
Bear in mind that these are just the minimums. You can further protect yourself and your vehicle by opting to purchase higher coverages of New Hampshire car insurance. Collision and comprehensive coverage, for example, can provide some much-needed peace of mind in the event of an accident.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in New Hampshire?
If you’ve ever been insured in another state, you know how pricey car insurance can be. Fortunately, New Hampshire car insurance premiums cost about 24% less than the national average.
If you opt for full coverage, you can expect to pay around $1,083 each year. Minimum coverage, of course, will cost less at around $415 per year.
You can further discount your car insurance by talking to your agent about groups you’re associated with as well as your driving record. Drivers with few or no tickets can generally qualify for cheaper monthly or annual premiums.
Why is Car Insurance So Cheap in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire car insurance is cheaper than the national average for a few reasons. To begin, the cost of auto repairs is less expensive in New Hampshire than in other states. This helps keeps costs to insurers down; they then pass the savings to you.
Secondly, weather events in New Hampshire are fairly predictable. You won’t experience as many hurricanes, tornadoes, or floods in the state as you will in others.
Finally, only about 10% of New Hampshire drivers are uninsured. This means that insurance companies are paying less for uninsured motorist claims.
Lapses in New Hampshire Car Insurance
If you’re stopped by law enforcement and can’t prove you have New Hampshire car insurance, your driver’s license and registration will likely be suspended. You must then prove to the state that you have valid insurance, or that you were insured at the time of your citation.
If you weren’t insured, you’ll face a $100 registration reinstatement fee and a $25 license reinstatement fee. This is on top of court costs and other fines. If you were responsible for an accident, you may be financially liable for the whole cost of the accident!
In short, make sure your New Hampshire insurance is current and paid to make sure you don’t face expensive and inconvenient consequences.
Best Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
New Hampshire drivers were surveyed and asked which car insurance companies were their favorites. The following insurance companies consistently ranked high for customer service, low premiums, and effective coverage:
- State Farm
- Liberty Mutual
Be sure to shop around for your car insurance as no two drivers have exactly the same needs. Check with several companies and don’t forget to ask about discounts. Your employer, your automobile association, and even your driving record can net you great discounts on car insurance.
Driving in New Hampshire
Are you properly insured and ready to hit the road in New Hampshire? Here are a few facts you may be interested to learn about driving in the Granite State.
- New Hampshire is the only American state where seat belts are not required. That said, please buckle up.
- Motorcycle drivers are not required to wear a helmet in New Hampshire. Again, though, please be safe and wear a helmet.
- In order for your cattle to cross the road in New Hampshire, they each must be wearing some sort of device that will collect manure.
- Just visiting New Hampshire? Be honest, as it’s illegal to check into a hotel under a false name.
Conclusion: Car Insurance Coverage in New Hampshire
Gorgeous mountains, a bit of coastline, and year-round tourism make New Hampshire one of the most coveted states for both vacation and relocation. Be sure that you’re driving legally in the Granite State. Keep your car insurance up to date to avoid legal consequences and expensive fines.