Mount Hood, Haystack Rock, and the Oregon Dunes are just a few of the sights that the Beaver State is known for. With mountains and hundreds of miles of Pacific Coast, Oregon offers postcard-perfect opportunities at every turn.
If you’re planning to drive the Beaver State, you’ll need to ensure that you’ve got the right insurance coverage. In this guide, we’ll look at just what that coverage is and what happens if you don’t have it.
Oregon Car Insurance Minimum Coverage
Before you can legally register your car in the state of Oregon, you’ll need to prove to the state that your vehicle is insured. At a minimum, Oregon car insurance must cover:
- Bodily injury liability protection: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property damage liability coverage: $20,000 per accident.
- Personal injury protection (PIP): $15,000 per person.
- Uninsured driver bodily injury protection: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Don’t forget that these are just the minimum requirements. Should you choose to, you can get comprehensive, collision, and other coverage as well as towing service and even rental car reimbursement.
Speak with an insurance agent about what your lifestyle and driving habits mean about the coverage you require.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Oregon?
On average, drivers can expect to pay around $1,377 per year for full coverage auto insurance. That’s right on par with the national average; Oregon rates are approximately 4% less.
If you opt to only get the minimum insurance coverage, you can obviously expect to pay less. The average driver will pay around $639 per year for just the minimum coverage.
The cost of your insurance premiums will depend on various factors that are unique to you. When calculating your rates, your agent will consider:
- Your age
- Your sex
- The zip code where your car is parked
- The make and model of your vehicle
- Your credit history
- Your marital status
- Your driving record
Always ask about potential discounts that may be available to you. Your employer, organizations you belong to, and groups like AAA may qualify you for lower rates on your Oregon car insurance premiums.
Why is Car Insurance So Cheap in Oregon?
If you’ve moved to Oregon from another state, you’ll probably pay about the same for your car insurance. Oregon car insurance requirements are similar to those in other states, which means the rates are too.
Factors keeping the premiums down in the Beaver State also include a low number of uninsured drivers, average competition between insurance companies, and many rural areas. Fewer drivers on the road lead to fewer accidents. As insurers aren’t paying out ridiculous amounts for accidents, your premiums can stay low.
Lapses in Oregon Car Insurance
Oregon car insurance is mandatory for every driver. If you’re caught driving without proof of insurance, you face an automatic suspension of both your driver’s license and your vehicle’s registration.
In addition to losing your driving privileges, you’ll face a $260 fine regardless of whether you go to court or not. If you do go to court, that fine could increase to $1,000.
A lapse of your insurance is also inconvenient. Once your driving privileges are reinstated, you’ll have to provide monthly verification of your car insurance for three years.
Best Auto Insurance in Oregon
Oregon drivers were surveyed to determine which insurance provider is the best in the state. Consistently the following five agencies ranked highest for affordability, customer service, and coverage options.
- State Farm
- Country Financial
Your insurance needs may differ from the “average” driver’s. Make sure you shop around for the best policy that suits your needs and your wallet. And remember to check for discounts you may be eligible for. Your rate may be significantly cheaper with another carrier once those discounts are applied.
Driving in Oregon
Ready to travel to Oregon? Do you want some fun facts to think about while you’re driving the Beaver State highways? Here are a few you may be interested to learn.
- It’s against the law to “test your physical endurance” while driving on the highway in Oregon-whatever that entails.
- It’s illegal to place human fecal matter on the side of the highway in the Beaver State, but we think this should be the law everywhere.
- It’s illegal to carry a child on any external part of a vehicle, including the hood, fender, roof, or truck bed. Again, this really should be a universal law.
Conclusion: Car Insurance in Oregon
Oregon is the picture of the American Northwest. Oceans, mountains, and rivers comprise the state’s scenery. You can see it all from the many scenic highways, but you’ll need to be sure you’re insured and legally registered in the Beaver State.