Utah license plates brag about “The Greatest Snow on Earth.” Settled by Mormons and now known for sublime skiing, the Beehive State is a destination for travelers from around the world.
If you want to register a vehicle in Utah, you’re going to need to know what type of insurance coverage is required. This guide will tell you all you need to know about staying street legal in the state of Utah.
Utah Car Insurance Minimum Coverage
As you prepare to register your vehicle in Utah, you’ll discover that you need to meet certain requirements for Utah car insurance. The minimum amount of coverage you can legally carry is as follows:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident.
- Property damage liability: minimum $15,000 per accident.
- Personal injury protection, or PIP: $3,000 per accident.
- Uninsured and underinsured motorist protection: $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident.
These minimums are a bit more than what most other states require. However, it may still be advisable to carry additional coverage on your policy. For instance, you may choose collision coverage or even opt for reimbursement for a rental car in the event of an accident.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Utah?
Despite having higher insurance minimums than many states, Utah car insurance is quite inexpensive. You can expect to pay around $1,112 per year for full coverage, which is more than 22% less than the national average.
If you’re choosing to just go with the minimum coverage, you can expect to pay around $332 for the entire year. That’s less than $30 per month, a low cost for peace of mind.
Why is Car Insurance So Cheap in Utah?
The state of Utah has extremely low crime rates. In fact, the state reports 1.3 fewer crimes per 1,000 people than the average in America. When your car is parked in Utah, it’s less likely to be vandalized or stolen than in other parts of the country.
Additionally, there are fewer drivers on the road. Utah is 30th in the country in terms of population, and there are fewer than 2 million drivers in the state. Compare that to neighboring Colorado which has over 4 million licensed drivers.
Lapses in Utah Car Insurance
If you’re stopped by law enforcement in Utah, the penalty is expensive. For the first offense, you’ll be assessed a $400 fine. Subsequent offenses will cost you $1,000. The fines can be even higher if you were involved in an accident without insurance.
In addition to the fines, your license and registration can be suspended until you can provide proof of insurance. To get these privileges reinstated, you’ll have to pay court fees of $50, a license reinstatement fee of $30, and a registration reinstatement fee of $100.
To avoid all this expense, it’s obviously best to just keep your Utah car insurance up to date.
Best Auto Insurance in Utah
Utah drivers were polled and asked their favorite providers for car insurance. In terms of coverage, affordability, and service, the following five insurers were consistently ranked best:
- State Farm
Not every driver will qualify for USAA car insurance; it’s only for military members and their families. However, there are many great insurers who can provide you with Utah car insurance, so just shop around and you’ll find a good option.
Don’t forget, too, that you may qualify for discounts on your insurance. A good driving history, good credit, and associations with certain employers or associations.
Driving in Utah
Ready to head to the Beehive State but want a little more information about their laws, and about driving in the state? Here are some facts about driving in Utah.
- It’s illegal to throw a missile at buses in Utah, so don’t even think about it.
- It’s also illegal to drive on the sidewalk in the Beehive State.
- Riding a bicycle or driving a moped? You’ll be breaking the law if you don’t have at least one hand on the handlebars.
- Approximately one in every five people who are killed in distracted driving accidents are not in a vehicle.
Conclusion: Auto Insurance in Utah
The Beehive State offers plenty of space and a quiet lifestyle. But if you’re planning on moving to Utah, you’ll need to make sure your car is properly insured and registered. Keep your driving privileges and registration by ensuring that your Utah car insurance policy remains paid up and up to date.