Have you ever wanted to drive through the mountains of Vermont, exploring its wooden bridges and sampling local maple syrup? If you intend to drive in the Green Mountain State, you’ll need to make sure your car is street legal.
Moving to Vermont? “Street legal” means you’ll need the proper insurance and registration. This guide will tell you all you need to know about Vermont car insurance.
Vermont Car Insurance Minimum Coverage
As with most states, you’ll need your Vermont car insurance to meet certain requirements. The minimum coverage for Vermont car insurance won’t seem too unusual to you if you’ve been insured before. You must have:
- Bodily injury liability protection: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property damage liability insurance: $10,000.
- Uninsured motorist coverage: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.
- Underinsured motorist protection: $10,000-usually with a $150 deductible.
You may have noticed that the uninsured motorist liability coverage requirement is higher than in most states. Keep that in mind as you shop for your insurance, and be sure to ask your agent what discounts you may qualify for.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Vermont?
Despite higher coverage requirements for some of your Vermont car insurance, the price of your policy will actually average almost 26% less than the national average. On average, drivers pay $1,156 per year for full coverage.
That cost will obviously be lower if you opt for just the minimum car insurance. People who choose to carry just the minimum insurance will pay, on average, less than $30 per month.
Why is Car Insurance So Cheap in Vermont?
Unlike many other states in the country, Vermont has a very low number of uninsured drivers. Vermonters are a responsible lot; only around 7% of drivers in the state choose to drive illegally without insuring their vehicles.
Weather is also relatively predictable in the state of Vermont. Sure, the area has significant ice and snowfall. But hurricanes, tornadoes, and flooding are rare, leading to lower car insurance rates.
Remember, you can get discounts on your insurance if you tell your agent about potentially qualifying organizations you belong to. AARP, AAA, your employer, and even your credit union can net you savings on your insurance, so be sure to take advantage.
Lapses in Vermont Car Insurance
It’s important that you keep your auto insurance current and paid up in the state of Vermont. If you’re stopped at a routine traffic stop and don’t have your insurance card with you, you’ll pay a fine of up to $100. That’s just if you don’t have proof. If it turns out you don’t actually have insurance, you’ll pay up to $500.
Now, let’s say you get pulled for an illegal U-turn or for speeding. If you don’t have insurance, and can’t provide proof of insurance within 20 days, your license will be suspended.
Finally, let’s say you’re in an accident. You don’t have auto insurance or can’t prove that you do. You’re going to have to pay the fines above, plus your license will be suspended. You’ll have to provide proof of insurance and pay additional reinstatement fees. Unfortunately, you’ll also be financially responsible for all costs associated with the accident if you’re found to be at fault.
To keep things simple, just keep your Vermont car insurance current. It’s safer for you, and much less expensive than being caught without it.
Best Auto Insurance in Vermont
Drivers in Vermont were polled to determine their favorite car insurance companies. These insurers are ranked for affordability, customer service, and coverage options. The five best insurance companies in Vermont are:
- Vermont Mutual
- State Farm
- Concord Group
Shop around to find the auto insurance option that’s best for your driving history and your needs.
Driving in Vermont
If you’re properly insured and ready to drive around the state of Vermont, here are a few facts you might want to think about while you’re on the road.
- In Rutland, Vermont, it’s illegal for cars to backfire.
- Billboards are illegal in the state of Vermont. All the easier to look at the gorgeous countryside!
- Vermont is one of a few American states that doesn’t restrict teens from driving at night, so be careful out there!
- Are you a delivery driver? If you’re delivering to a home worth more than $500,000, you must walk backward in the driveway.
Conclusion: Car Insurance in Vermont
Vermont is well-known for its tourism, from mountains to maple syrup. But if you’re planning to move to the state, you’ll need to prepare to drive legally. Cover your car with at least the state car insurance minimums to ensure that you can explore Vermont without penalty.