Save up to 15% on your car insurance rates*

Get multiple quotes from national carriers

*Savings will vary from driver to driver.


Virginia Car Insurance & Minimum Coverage Amounts

Historical Williamsburg. Busch Gardens. Virginia Beach. The Shenandoah Mountains. There’s so much to discover in the Mother of States!

As with most states, you’re required to carry car insurance when you drive in Virginia. In this guide, we’ll take you through everything you need to know about Virginia car insurance.

Virginia Car Insurance Minimum Coverage

In order to legally register a vehicle in Virginia, you’ll need to be sure you have the proper insurance coverage. The state of Virginia requires that you have, at minimum, the following:

  • $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability protection.
  • $20,000 coverage for property damage liability.
  • $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability for uninsured motorists.
  • $20,000 property damage coverage per accident and a $200 deductible for hit and run to cover against uninsured motorists.

Interestingly, Virginia allows drivers to pay a $500 uninsured motorist fee in lieu of carrying insurance. However, if you’re in an accident and are uninsured, the financial repercussions could be very expensive.

The minimum insurance requirements in Virginia aren’t too different from the national norms. Remember, you can choose to purchase additional coverage should you feel more comfortable. Roadside assistance and towing are just two examples of this additional coverage.

What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Virginia?

All things considered, Virginia car insurance is cheap. The average driver with a good driving record can expect to pay around $900 per year for full insurance coverage. That’s almost 37% less than the national average.

If you opt to only insure your car for the minimum coverage, you’ll pay much less. On average, you can expect to pay $440 or less each year.

Keep in mind that adding additional coverages will impact your premium. Your rate may also go up or down depending upon your driving history, age, sex, marital status, and other factors.

Why is Car Insurance So Cheap in Virginia?

The primary reason car insurance is so cheap in Virginia is simple: it’s a highly saturated market. There are so many car insurance companies in the state that they compete with each other. The benefit to you is that each strives to provide the lowest rate to consumers.

Most Virginia drivers are insured, as well. Because of the low instance of uninsured motorist accidents, Virginia car insurance companies are paying out less in claims. That, too, means lower premiums for you.

Lapses in Virginia Car Insurance

Again, Virginia gives you the option to pay an annual uninsured motorist fee. However, if you have not paid this and are caught without insurance, you risk facing a $500 fine, suspension of your driver’s license and your registration, and conviction of a Class 3 misdemeanor.

Whether you’ve paid the $500 fee or you’re simply uninsured, you’ll also be financially responsible for costs associated with the accident. That can absolutely ad up, so most Virginia drivers find it worth the low cost of insurance to keep themselves protected.

Best Auto Insurance in Virginia

Virginia drivers were asked, “Which insurance company in Virginia offers the best value?” The responses pointed to five insurers as the best in class for minimum and full coverage. They are:

  • Virginia Farm Bureau
  • Erie
  • State Farm
  • Allstate

Of course, you’ll want to shop around to determine which insurer best suits your needs. Keep in mind that you can qualify for discounts on your auto coverage through associations you belong to as well as your driving history and your employer. Be sure to check with your agent.

Driving in Virginia

Are you ready to head to Mount Vernon or pay your respects at Arlington? Here are some facts you may be interested to learn about driving in the Mother of States.

  • It’s illegal to drive without your shoes on in the state of Virginia.
  • Radar detectors may not be used to detect speed by Virginia law enforcement.
  • In Waynesboro, it’s not legal for a woman to drive down Main Street unless her husband walks in front of the car, waving a red flag. We don’t think this one is frequently enforced.
  • In Prince William County, it’s against the law to park your car on railroad tracks … and for good reason.

Conclusion: Virginia Car Insurance

From the white sands of its over 7,000 miles of coastline to the eight mountain ranges in the state, there’s plenty worth seeing in the Mother of States. Be sure your insurance coverage is up to date so that you’re free to legally explore Virginia’s beautiful sites.