Save up to 15% on your car insurance rates*

Get multiple quotes from national carriers

*Savings will vary from driver to driver.

AD

Wyoming Car Insurance & Minimum Coverages

From Yellowstone National Park in the northwest to the capital city of Cheyenne in the southeast, Wyoming covers almost 100,000 square miles of scenic western land. If you’re thinking of staying in Wyoming long-term, you’ll need to make sure you’re legally able to drive.

In this guide, we’ll talk about what you need to register your car with the state, and about the Wyoming car insurance you’ll need.

Wyoming Car Insurance Minimum Requirements

Before you register your car and get your Wyoming license plates, you’ll need to buy an auto insurance policy. The state of Wyoming requires that you have the following coverage:

  • Bodily injury coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property damage coverage: $20,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

Compared to many other states, these coverage minimums are quite low. For that reason, Wyoming car insurance is also very inexpensive.

What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Wyoming?

If you only want the minimum car insurance coverage in Wyoming, you can expect to pay around $356 per year. If you opt for full coverage, your premiums will cost around $982 per year.

As you can see, that’s cheap! Your rates may vary, though, depending upon your credit score, driving history, age, and other factors. Even your marital status can impact how much you pay for insurance.

Make sure you shop around for the best rates, and talk to your agent about discounts you may be eligible for. Wyoming’s insurance costs are generally low, but there’s usually a way you can lower your bill even more.

Why is Car Insurance So Cheap in Wyoming?

Wyoming car insurance is inexpensive for a number of reasons. First, there are very few uninsured drivers on the roads. Only about 5.8% of drivers are estimated to be driving without insurance, which means lower payouts from the insurance companies.

Wyoming is also an at-fault state. That means that, in the event of an accident, only the insurance of the driver who caused the accident pays. That, too, keeps insurance premiums down.

Finally, the state of Wyoming doesn’t require that drivers carry much insurance at all. That naturally means that you’ll be paying less for your Wyoming car insurance.

Lapses in Wyoming Car Insurance

Driving without Wyoming car insurance is no joke. If you’re stopped by law enforcement and can’t prove that you have insurance, you can face fines of up to $750 for a first offense. Subsequent offenses can cost as much as $1,500.

In addition to hefty fines, your license and registration can be suspended, rendering you unable to drive until you resolve the issue with the state. In extreme cases, driving without insurance can mean you spend up to six months in jail.

In short, keep your Wyoming car insurance up to date and be sure you have at least the minimum coverage. In this way, you’ll avoid steep fines and even more serious consequences.

Best Auto Insurance in Wyoming

Wyoming drivers know what they like. When polled about car insurance, the following companies consistently ranked best for customer service, quality of coverage, and cost of premiums:

  • USAA
  • GEICO
  • State Farm
  • MetLife
  • Farmers

Of course, these insurers may or may not be ideal for you. Again, be sure to shop around for the best rates and for coverage that meets your driving needs.

Driving in Wyoming

Your car is insured and registered, and you’re ready to drive in the Equality State. Here are a few facts about driving in Wyoming that you may find interesting.

  • It’s illegal to hunt or shoot wildlife from your car while you’re on public roads in Wyoming.
  • Fenced driveway? If you forget to shut the gate, you can be fined up to $750.
  • There are approximately 33,000 miles of public roadways in Wyoming.
  • On some Wyoming roads, the speed limit is as high as 80 miles per hour.
  • It’s against the law to not wear a seatbelt in Wyoming, but you can’t get pulled by law enforcement for it. The fine is $25 if you’re not wearing your belt and are pulled for another offense.

Conclusion: Car Insurance in Wyoming

Wyoming is the land of open roads, towering mountains, and wide-open spaces. If you’re ready to explore the Cowboy State, make sure you have the proper car insurance as required by the state. Then, strap on your boots and enjoy all that Wyoming has to offer.